Electoral Diary Of Reginald Horace – 11th April

by richardhutton

On the basis of advice which can generously be described as misguided, spent several hours campaigning outside the local youth centre today. Nobody is more keen on edifying the young than I; and serving as an exempler to them, regardless of background. I may not have been born with every advantage in life, but nonetheless I have done tremendously well for myself. I see no reason why juvenile miscreants cannot do likewise.

Instilling the necessary moral fibre is more easily said than done, however. What on earth has happened to today’s youth? At least a score walked past during the course of the afternoon – not one of them wearing a suit. Overheard several remarks which were impertinent in the extreme. There is nothing worse than idle gossip – particularly among those who have probably never done a day’s work in their lives. The only solution to this is to reinstate national service. My own experience is instructive here: solely due to my own efforts, I rose to the rank of private, as fast as the average person would attain the rank of corporal. This is not a boast – simply a statement of fact. If only teenagers these days would begin to pull themselves up by the bootstraps, and learn the virtues of going it alone, they might benefit likewise. But you try and tell this to young people today; and they won’t believe you. What’s more, you are likely to get a plethora of abuse simply for explaining to them that they should shut up. I think that there is little more that anyone can say on the topic at hand; besides the fact that voting before one has reached the age of 18 is rightly out of the question. For the sake of decency, a line must be drawn somewhere.

 

