A Ukip Supporter’s Letter To The Daily Express

by richardhutton

Dear Sirs,

I write to commend this newspaper for its bold reporting on the UK Independence Party. Of all publications, it is the only one to have the courage of its editor’s convictions.

I am a simple man, as those who know me often remark; with no pretensions to understanding these things. However, I can only applaud. Despite being a traditional sort of fellow, I can see that we need a new, trouser-hoisting politics; with true hair-on-the-chest politicians. I believe the country has found this in Nigel Farage.

Not a moment too soon, I might add. England is no longer the same country that my parents grew up in. Admittedly, they were born and largely raised in Belfast; but this is hardly the point. Things have changed beyond recognition. It’s not in my nature to be judgmental (I’ve rubbed up against all sorts), but political correctness has taken leave of its senses. We are becoming a nation of people who too easily take offence.

Every day I open the paper to find that yet another social grouping have taken umbrage at some relatively mild comment or well-intended situation. We are no longer allowed to hold nativity plays, for example; nor demand that the more confounding religions keep their disagreeable customs where they belong. It is why one can no longer give those in one’s employ a sound walloping when they fall short of expected standards. Nobody consulted the British public on this.

By contrast, Professor (though he is far too modest to use the title) Farage is a fellow of stout commonsense, very much after my own heart. Elitists telling us what is or isn’t true. It is our right as Britons to say things which the fact-obsessed find unpalatable. That is what we pay taxes for, after all. Only Farage has the robust good sense to puncture the pretensions of these so-called intellectuals. This self-made man sends a strong message to the electorate: pulling yourself up by your own bootstraps means that we can all be top of the pile, if only we stop complaining, and work hard enough. After all, inequality – as my dear old mother used to remark – is just another word for variations in prosperity; and you don’t find Nigel Farage complaining about this for the very simple reason that he has better manners than to do so. That is why more than a few are saying “I agree with Nigel…” at every juncture possible; it is why I endorse Ukip, and encourage readers to do likewise: before the unmentionables outnumber the decent among us.

yours faithfully

Reginald Horace; Ukip.
(Second Brigadier – Humberside Branch)

